Rother District Council

ANNUAL COUNCIL MEETING

24 May 2023

ROTHER DISTRICT AND PARISH AND TOWN COUNCIL ORDINARY ELECTIONS – 4 May 2023

REPORT OF THE RETURNING OFFICER

I have to report the results of the elections held on Thursday, 4 May 2023 to elect 38 District Councillors.

District Council Wards

(1) **Bexhill Central**

| AMIN, Nurul (C) | 250 | |
|-------------------------------|-----|----------------|
| BAYLISS, Christine Ann (L) | 732 | ELECTED |
| CROTTY, Andrew John (IND) | 208 | |
| MCCOURT, Ruairi Anthony (L) | 579 | ELECTED |
| SULLIVAN, Colin Martin (UKIP) | 76 | |
| VOYCE, Andy (IND) | 98 | |
| WEBB, Paul Leonard (C) | 224 | |

[%] Turnout = 28%

(2) **Bexhill Collington**

| DAVIES, Jill Moray (UKIP) | 176 | |
|-----------------------------------|-------|----------------|
| HOLLINGSWORTH, Bridget Ann (C) | 560 | |
| JEEAWON, Ashan Kumar (Rother AI) | 1,055 | ELECTED |
| KHAIRA, Balwinder Singh (C) | 397 | |
| OLIVER, Douglas Barry (Rother AI) | 1,148 | ELECTED |

[%] Turnout = 45%

(3) **Bexhill Kewhurst**

| DRAYSON, Brian John (Rother Al) | 671 | ELECTED |
|-----------------------------------|-----|----------------|
| GODDARD, Bill (LD) | 440 | |
| HAYWOOD, Andrew Peter (Rother Al) | 637 | ELECTED |
| JOHNSON, Gillian Patricia (C) | 528 | |
| KENWARD, Martin John (C) | 469 | |
| PHILLIPS, Alison (UKIP) | 140 | |

[%] Turnout = 40%

(4) **Bexhill Old Town and Worsham** CLARK, Barbara Jean (C) 282 FISHER, Hannah Jean Louise (C) 190 **GRAY**, Polly Janet (Green) 535 **ELECTED** LEGG, Mark Colby (L) 374 **ELECTED** MADELEY, Chris (Rother AI) 323 PHILLIPS, Michael Sheridan (UKIP) 79 % Turnout = 30% (5) **Bexhill Pebsham and St. Michaels** BREWERTON, Jay (C) 391 **CLARK, Charles Albert (IND)** 754 **ELECTED** DELANY, Gareth, Robert Michael (L) 429 **ELECTED** DICKER, John Frank (UKIP) 90 ROBERTSON, Geoffrey Raymond (C) 180 RUSTEM, Charlie (IND) 268 % Turnout = 31% (6) **Bexhill Sackville** ALLEN-RODGERS, Sheila Patricia (UKIP) 122 BASHAM, Brian (L) 313 BYRNE, Terry (Rother AI) 629 **ELECTED** RAWDON-MOGG, Christopher James David (C) 293 THOMAS, Shaji (C) 392 TIMPE, Hazel Linda (Rother AI) 643 **ELECTED** % Turnout = 33% (7) **Bexhill Sidley** BLAGROVE, Sharon Joy (Independent) 209 CARROLL, Jim (C) 377 CHOWDHURY, Fazlul Haque (L) 420 **ELECTED** COLEMAN, Sam (L) 507 **ELECTED** MCLEAN, Brett Reginald (C) 203 ZIPSER, John Kamil (UKIP) 61 % Turnout = 23% (8)**Bexhill St. Marks** DASH, Wendy Ann (LD) 241 FOSTER, Tony (C) 474 HILLIER-PALMER, Peter Victor (L) 239 JACKLIN, Nigel Adam (IND network) 406 LAKE, Nathaniel Robert Jack (C) 315 PIERCE, Justin Webster (L) 191

527

630

99

ELECTED

ELECTED

STANGER, Jimmy (Rother AI)

ZIPSER, Christine (UKIP)

WINTER, Connor Jack (Independent)

[%] Turnout = 41% c230524 - Report of the Returning Officer

| (9) | Bexhill St. Stephens | | |
|------|---|---|--------------------|
| | AMMOUN, Gillian Elaine (UKIP) AZAD, Abul Kalam (C) CARROLL, Richard Charles (C) RATHBONE ARIEL, Arren (Green) THOMAS, Richard Beverley (LD) | 139 462 425 561 548 | ELECTED ELECTED |
| | % Turnout = 31% | | |
| (10) | Brede and Udimore | | |
| | GORDON, William Neil Irving (C) GRIFFITHS, Martin Paul (LD) MARGRET SANDRA, Xxxx (L) | 414 239 57 | ELECTED |
| | % Turnout = 39% | | |
| (11) | Burwash and the Weald | | |
| | BARNES, John (C) KIRBY-GREEN, Eleanor (C) LOVE, Heather Beryl (Independent) VARRALL, Mary Elizabeth (LD) | 610 605 448 541 | ELECTED ELECTED |
| | % Turnout = 36% | | |
| (12) | Crowhurst and Catsfield | | |
| | CURTIS, Gary Clifford (C) MACPHERSON, Tim (L) PEARCE, Chas (LD) | 275 154 403 | ELECTED |
| | % Turnout = 38.40 | | |
| (13) | Eastern Rother | | |
| | GLOVER, Catherine Laura (Green) HACKING, Lizzie (C) MANNING, Dominic Mark Wistow (Green) | 466 605 563 | ELECTED |
| | OSBORNE,Paul Norman (C) WHYMARK, Linda June (L) | 578 300 | ELECTED |
| | OSBORNE,Paul Norman (C) | 578 | ELECTED |
| (14) | OSBORNE,Paul Norman (C) WHYMARK, Linda June (L) | 578 | ELECTED |
| (14) | OSBORNE,Paul Norman (C) WHYMARK, Linda June (L) % Turnout = 36% Hurst Green and Ticehurst BARNES, Mary Leonora (C) BROWNE, Graham Stephen (C) | 578 | ELECTED |
| (14) | OSBORNE,Paul Norman (C) WHYMARK, Linda June (L) % Turnout = 36% Hurst Green and Ticehurst BARNES, Mary Leonora (C) | 578 300 635 603 | |

| (15) | North Battle, Netherfield and Whatlington | | |
|------|--|---------------------------------------|--------------------|
| | BEAUMONT, Mark (C) BURTON, Sue (Green) CURTIS, Kirsty Alexandra (C) | 305 939 266 | ELECTED |
| | FIELD, Kathryn Margaret (LD) MABON, Bernard Walter (UKIP) | 1,092 65 | ELECTED |
| | % Turnout = 39% | | |
| (16) | Northern Rother | | |
| | BIGGS, Tony (C) GANLY, Tony (C) VINE-HALL, Peter Jonathan (Independent) | 880 881 851 | ELECTED ELECTED |
| | % Turnout = 42% | | |
| (17) | Robertsbridge | | |
| | PROCHAK, Sue (LD) REDSTONE, Paul Steven (C) | 519 191 | ELECTED |
| | % Turnout = 38% | | |
| (18) | Rye and Winchelsea | | |
| | CREASER, Cheryl Anne (L) HARRIS, Guy Gillan (LD) HOGGART, Chris (Rother AI) MCGURK, Simon Bede (L) STEVENS, Gennette Florence (C) STEVENS, Jayne Maria (C) | 608 506 335 606 435 371 | ELECTED |
| | % Turnout = 39% | | |
| (19) | Sedlescombe and Westfield | | |
| | COUPAR, Beverley Jane (Independent) LUDDEN, Kate Elizabeth (C) MAYNARD, Carl Raymond (C) | 843 647 714 | ELECTED ELECTED |
| | % Turnout = 35% | | |
| (20) | South Battle and Telham | | |
| | BROWN, Bernard Peter (C) COOK, Vikki (LD) | 211 388 | ELECTED |
| | % Turnout = 35% | | |

(21) Southern Rother

| BRADLEY, James, Richard William (C) | 569 | |
|-------------------------------------|-----|----------------|
| GROHNE, Tim Oliver (C) | 645 | ELECTED |
| LEAROYD-SMITH, Sue (L) | 402 | |
| MIER, Andrew Stanley (LD) | 770 | ELECTED |
| WARREN, Nick (L) | 489 | |

[%] Turnout = 36

The average turnout for the District Wards was 36.04%.

Parish and Town Councils

Of the 33 Parish, Parish Ward, Town or Town Council Wards, 4 went to Poll as follows:

Bexhill-on-Sea – Central Ward Bodiam Camber Northiam

47 Parishes or Wards of Parishes were uncontested.

Malcolm Johnston Returning Officer